A week of culinary delights

Some very happy news to share. I have been eating paleo for a month and my blood pressure is stable without medicationand I am down a clothing size!  I am continuing to monitor my blood pressure closely, but so far so good.

Mixed grill:

Today’s cooking fest includes – Eggs, ham steaks, bacon, smoked sausage, keilbasa, peppers & onions, baked sweet potato and baked potato, cantelope, and mixed veggies

image

Prior to Whole30, one of my favorite meals was spaghetti with home made vegetable and meat sauce.  Today, I made the meat sauce. 

2.5 lbs ground beef, browned and drained – then add
12 oz frozen chopped onion
12 oz frozen chopped green pepper
1 jar natural organics tomato basil sauce
To taste: sea salt, basil, bay, rosemary, and thyme

This was incredibly satisfying. A nice way to manage a food craving with an old comfort food. Visually, it looks like a big bowl of chili!

image

Canned tunafish, drained and mixed with mayo, onion powder, garlic salt, old bay, dill, thyme, and basil.  Paired with cashew nuts and steamed mukimame.

image

Tilapia, pan fried with bacon grease, and sprinkled (generously) with old bay, salt, and pepper. Then I pan fried cauliflower and added salt and pepper. Potatoes are in the oven.

image

Sliced leftover baked potato (the fish was so awesome and filling they didn’t get touched), sausage, and when this is done I will toss cauliflower in the pan.

image

On a very happy side note, I finally have a working dishwasher. Cooking for 5+ people without a working dishwasher has been a huge pain in the butt. I am so very grateful for this particular appliance.

The pan fried cauliflower.

image

It is cold and miserable out. I have a raging headache from lack of sleep, Princess Superhero is having toddler nightmares, and 10 minutes into my nap the handyman shows up. I desperately want comfort food of chicken pot pie.

This was done with leftovers.  On the stove: dice up 3 pieces of bacon, add bag of frozen carrots, pull meat off of 4 chicken thighs, dice up bakes potatoes.  Add sea salt, tarragon, pepper, garlic powder, thyme, and 1 cup coconut milk. Simmer.

image

image

Breakfast fun. I am trying to like squash. Pan fry bacon, then dice butternut squash and apple. Sautee and add allspice and basil.  Remove. Then pan fry eggs.

image

Shredded potatoes, nested and cooked on the griddle. Sausage. Then eggs made to order.

image

Namaste
Irisa

