Kitchen Wellness & Culinary Delights

Part of living a sacred life is finding balance in body, mind, and spirit. For me, part of this journey is taking control of my relationship with food and understanding what does and does not work for my body.  To help me do this I am participating in the Whole30 program, currently I am on day 16.  I am not perfect, so I may be making some mistakes on this program, however I am doing the best I can with the resources available to me.

Today’s menu:

Apple chips
Sweet apples, thin sliced
Ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon
Cookie sheets lined with parchment paper
Set oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit
Lay out on parchment paper, season apples, and place in oven for 2 to 3 hours

Pork chops (leftover thin sliced)
All the items in this recipe were thin sliced and cooked in a sautee pan with olive oil.
Pork chops, thin sliced and pre-cooked
2 slices of bacon
Apple, one small
Sweet potato, one small
Mushrooms, baby bella
Basil
Season with kosher sea salt, pepper, and garlic powder

Banana and kiwi
Slice up and serve as a side

image

Cauliflower and green beans
These were frozen so I steamed them each for 5 minutes. Then I placed them in the pan used to cook the pork and added ghee, sea salt, pepper, and mint. Sautee on medium heat until warmed through.

image

Cold water with lemon essential oil
Lemon Essential Oil (Citrus limon) has a strong, purifying, citrus scent that is revitalizing and uplifting. Lemon consists of 68 percent dlimonene, a powerful antioxidant.

Chicken Leg Quarter
I got pre-seasoned leg quarters on sale at Kroger.

Preheat the oven to 400°F (200°C). Line a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper.

Place the chicken  on the baking sheet and dry the skin well with a paper towel. Flip the chicken over so the skin side is down.

Bake about 25-30 minutes (in a convection oven) or 35-40 minutes (in a regular oven) until the chicken is cooked through completely.

image

Potato and sweet potato sautee
I haven’t had bacon in months, so I am indulging.
3 strips bacon, sliced thin
Olive oil
Potato
Sweet potato
Onion powder
Garlic
Salt pepper
Italian seasoning

image

Hard boiled eggs for whatever and whenever.

image

Namaste,
Irisa

