It Starts With Food

It Starts With Food I begin the year by taking my health under control (hopefully).  To begin this, I am doing the whole30 detox program.  While we spend the next week or so cleaning out the pantry, I am reading It Starts With Food.  As we eliminate foods from the pantry I am transitioning the meals.  I have cut out the bulk of sugar from my diet, as well as breads and pastas.  Ironically, the flu is making this transition easier since I have little taste for foods right now. During the detox phase of the Whole30 program you are to eliminate legumes.  I was curious as to the reasoning behind this and discovered that certain research papers on nutrition outline the theory that certain dietary proteins from legumes can overstimulate the immune system and that can cause chronic inflammation.  I am certainly willing to try removing them from my diet and see if it alleviates my chronic pain and inflammation. One of the parts of this book that truly resonates with me is their good food standards:

  1. Promote a healthy psychological response.
  2. Promote a healthy hormonal response.
  3. Support a healthy gut.
  4. Support immune function and minimize inflammation.

This resonated with me as someone who is always trying to honor, support, and balance body, mind, and spirit. There is so much worth quoting in this book that I will refrain. If you are interested in your wellness from a dietary perspective, even if you have no interest in a detox or paleo, get this book. It has so much information on food and our body that anyone on the road to wellness can learn from reading this book.

IT STARTS WITH FOOD on Amazon

IT STARTS WITH FOOD COOKBOOK on Kindle

Namaste, Irisa

